Toby Barton Designs

July 11, 2012

Dress 4016 or, sewing with a Treadle Sewing Machine

Filed under: Uncategorized — by tobybartondesigns @ 3:10 pm

My mother bought this treadle sewing machine about 25 years ago and I have always wanted this machine.  On a recent trip North, my mother gave me her machine and I was absolutely thrilled with receiving it.  When I started to look at the machine I realized that there weren’t any markings of any kind on it.  So, doing a little research, I discovered that this could very well be any inexpensive version of a Singer or White.  What I do know is that it was patented January 29, 1910 which makes it perfect for the project.  So, my objective for the rest of the 1912 project is to use the treadle to do all of my sewing for the project.

If you have never used a treadle sewing machine practice, practice, practice.  It takes a bit of eye/hand coordination and rhythm but, once you get the feel of it you are good to go.

This is Dress 4016 from April 1912 which is my latest project.  Quite a lovely dress.  I chose to use a burgundy and ecru stripe cotton for the main body of the dress and a solid burgundy cotton for the contrasting center panel and lower hem.

 

The main body of the dress put together, using the treadle machine.  The pattern called for bands to circle the skirt, sleeves, and bodice.  I choose to use bias of the stripe fabric for these.  I also added a lace edging to the bands to add a little something extra.

 

The contrasting center front panel has been sewn in on the right hand side.  Now, take a closer look at the original picture and my dress so far.  I believe that I forgot one little detail………………..

The bands on the bodice.  I did not realize this until I was driving to work yesterday.  After taking a look at this morning, I have decided not to put the bands of the bodice.  My next challenge, and this is very thinking ahead helps, is how to fasten this on the left side.  I will have to put a placket in the left side.

So far I am very pleased on how the dress is coming out and sewing with a treadle isn’t hard at all.  It is actually quite fun.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

